1990 FIFA Men's World Cup • June 8 - July 8

Italy 1990

The 1990 FIFA World Cup in Italy, remembered as 'Italia '90', was a tournament where defensive tactics prevailed, epitomized by the low-scoring matches and the record number of red cards issued. West Germany emerged victorious, securing their third title by defeating Argentina 1-0 in a final marred by a lack of goals but not without controversy, including the infamous sending-off of Pedro Monzón and Gustavo Dezotti. The event is often recalled for the poignant image of English tears in the semi-final penalty shootout and for Cameroon's Roger Milla's corner flag dance, which celebrated the surprising and joyous advance of the Indomitable Lions to the quarter-finals, an unprecedented achievement for an African team at that stage.

Winners and awards

Third place

Golden Ball (best player)
Salvatore Schillaci
Silver Ball
Lothar Matthäus
Bronze Ball
Diego Maradona
Golden Boot (top scorer)
Salvatore Schillaci
Silver Boot
Tomáš Skuhravý
Best Young Player
Robert Prosinečki

Top scorers

Salvatore Schillaci (6)
Tomáš Skuhravý (5)
Roger Milla (4)
Lothar Matthäus (4)
Gary Lineker (4)
Míchel (4)
Jürgen Klinsmann (3)
Andreas Brehme (3)
David Platt (3)
Rudi Völler (3)


Stadio San Nicola
Bari, Italy • 51000
Stadio Renato Dall'Ara
Bologna, Italy • 50000
Stadio Sant'Elia
Cagliari, Italy • 35000
Stadio Comunale
Florence, Italy • 39000
Stadio Luigi Ferraris
Genoa, Italy • 37000
San Siro
Milan, Italy • 75000
Stadio San Paolo
Naples, Italy • 60000
Stadio La Favorita
Palermo, Italy • 33000
Stadio Olimpico
Rome, Italy • 74000
Stadio delle Alpi
Turin, Italy • 63000
Stadio Friuli
Udine, Italy • 36000
Stadio Marc'Antonio Bentegodi
Verona, Italy • 36000

The World Cup Archives is a project by Pablo Román published under a CC-BY-SA 4.0 license

Database sourced from The Fjelstul World Cup Database © 2023 Joshua C. Fjelstul, Ph.D.

Source code available in Github