2022 FIFA Men's World Cup • November 20 - December 18

Qatar 2022

The 2022 FIFA World Cup, hosted by Qatar, stood out as the first to be held in the Arab and Muslim world, and was the last of the 32-team format before the expansion to 48 teams for 2026. Amidst a backdrop of controversy, including criticism over human rights issues and allegations of corruption, the event also broke new ground by moving to a cooler, late-year schedule. The tournament saw Argentina clinch their third title, overcoming France in a penalty shootout after a 3-3 draw—marking their first triumph since 1986. Kylian Mbappé's final hat-trick and Golden Boot achievement, along with Lionel Messi's Golden Ball win, underscored individual brilliance, while the tournament's record 172 goals reflected an overall attacking display. Qatar 2022 has been considered exceptionally poetic as the capstone of Lionel Messi's career, for some commentators fulfilling a previously unmet criterion to be regarded the greatest player of all time.

Winners and awards

Third place

Golden Ball (best player)
Lionel Messi
Silver Ball
Kylian Mbappé
Bronze Ball
Luka Modrić
Golden Boot (top scorer)
Kylian Mbappé
Silver Boot
Lionel Messi
Golden Glove (best keeper)
Emiliano Martínez
Best Young Player
Enzo Fernández

Top scorers

Kylian Mbappé (8)
Lionel Messi (7)
Olivier Giroud (4)
Julián Álvarez (4)
Bukayo Saka (3)
Enner Valencia (3)
Richarlison (3)
Marcus Rashford (3)
Gonçalo Ramos (3)
Álvaro Morata (3)


Al Bayt Stadium
Al Khor, Qatar • 69000
Ahmad bin Ali Stadium
Al Rayyan, Qatar • 45000
Education City Stadium
Al Rayyan, Qatar • 45000
Khalifa International Stadium
Al Rayyan, Qatar • 46000
Al Janoub Stadium
Al Wakrah, Qatar • 44000
Al Thumama Stadium
Doha, Qatar • 44000
Stadium 974
Doha, Qatar • 44000
Lusail Stadium
Lusail, Qatar • 89000

The World Cup Archives is a project by Pablo Román published under a CC-BY-SA 4.0 license

Database sourced from The Fjelstul World Cup Database © 2023 Joshua C. Fjelstul, Ph.D.

Source code available in Github