1938 FIFA Men's World Cup • June 4 - June 19

France 1938

The 1938 FIFA World Cup in France was the last World Cup before the hiatus caused by World War II, and it was notable for several reasons. First, it continued the format of a knockout competition rather than a group stage, which led to some high-stakes matches. Italy, led by Vittorio Pozzo, retained their title, defeating Hungary 4-2 in the final to become the first team to win consecutive World Cup tournaments. The political backdrop of the era was impossible to ignore, with Italy's triumph under Mussolini's regime leading to propagandist claims, while Austria's team was notably absent due to the country's annexation by Germany earlier that year. The tournament was marked by high-scoring games and the flair of Brazilian striker Leônidas, who finished as the tournament's top scorer.

Winners and awards

Third place

Golden Boot (top scorer)
Silver Boot
Silvio Piola
Gyula Zsengellér
György Sárosi

Top scorers

Leônidas (7)
György Sárosi (5)
Gyula Zsengellér (5)
Silvio Piola (5)
Gino Colaussi (4)
Ernst Wilimowski (4)
Arne Nyberg (3)
André Abegglen (3)
Héctor Socorro (3)
Perácio (3)


Stade du Fort Carré
Antibes, France • 7000
Stade du Parc Lescure
Bordeaux, France • 35000
Stade Jules Deschaseaux
Le Havre, France • 22000
Stade Victor Boucquey
Lille, France • 15000
Stade Vélodrome
Marseille, France • 60000
Parc des Princes
Paris, France • 49000
Stade Olympique de Colombes
Paris, France • 60000
Vélodrome Municipal
Reims, France • 22000
Stade de la Meinau
Strasbourg, France • 30000
Stade du T.O.E.C.
Toulouse, France • 15000

The World Cup Archives is a project by Pablo Román published under a CC-BY-SA 4.0 license

Database sourced from The Fjelstul World Cup Database © 2023 Joshua C. Fjelstul, Ph.D.

Source code available in Github