2014 FIFA Men's World Cup • June 12 - July 13

Brazil 2014

The 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil was a tournament imbued with the host nation's passionate football culture, yet it concluded with Germany lifting their fourth title, a testament to their resilience and tactical excellence. The competition was marked by memorable moments, including Brazil's shocking 7-1 defeat to Germany in the semi-finals, a match that reverberated throughout the football world and became known as the "Mineirazo," echoing the historical Maracanazo of 1950. The tournament saw the emergence of a prolific German team that combined efficiency with flair, culminating in Mario Götze's extra-time goal to clinch the championship against Argentina. The event was not without its issues, ranging from social unrest and public demonstrations to concerns over the legacy and cost of the stadiums. Notably, the 2014 World Cup also featured high-scoring matches and the use of goal-line technology for the first time, enhancing the accuracy of the game's most crucial decisions.

Winners and awards

Third place

Golden Ball (best player)
Lionel Messi
Silver Ball
Thomas Müller
Bronze Ball
Arjen Robben
Golden Boot (top scorer)
James Rodríguez
Silver Boot
Thomas Müller
Golden Glove (best keeper)
Manuel Neuer
Best Young Player
Paul Pogba

Top scorers

James Rodríguez (6)
Thomas Müller (5)
Robin van Persie (4)
Neymar (4)
Lionel Messi (4)
Enner Valencia (3)
André Schürrle (3)
Xherdan Shaqiri (3)
Karim Benzema (3)
Arjen Robben (3)


Estádio Mineirão
Belo Horizonte, Brazil • 43000
Estádio Nacional
Brasília, Brazil • 70000
Arena Pantanal
Cuiabá, Brazil • 41000
Arena da Baixada
Curitiba, Brazil • 40000
Estádio Castelão
Fortaleza, Brazil • 63000
Arena da Amazônia
Manaus, Brazil • 41000
Arena das Dunas
Natal, Brazil • 40000
Estádio Beira-Rio
Porto Alegre, Brazil • 43000
Arena Pernambuco
Recife, Brazil • 43000
Estádio do Maracanã
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil • 200000
Arena Fonte Nova
Salvador, Brazil • 52000
Arena Corinthians
São Paulo, Brazil • 63000

The World Cup Archives is a project by Pablo Román published under a CC-BY-SA 4.0 license

Database sourced from The Fjelstul World Cup Database © 2023 Joshua C. Fjelstul, Ph.D.

Source code available in Github